Why Driving Without Insurance in California Is Not the Way to Go
Often there are numerous ways to cut costs and save money, driving without insurance is a horrible choice for California drivers due to penalties, fines, along with being placed in a very unpleasant predicament.
Do you find yourself thinking about ways to cut expenses and simply keep more money in your wallet? Although there are numerous places one can cut costs, driver’s insurance isn’t one of them. In California, a ticket for “no proof of insurance” is associated with many long-term consequences and hefty fines. Here’s why:
For Starters, Its Illegal
There is just no other way to put it. Anybody that is driving a vehicle must show evidence of financial responsibility. Although there are alternative types of financial responsibility such as:
A DMV issued self-insurance certificate
Proof of a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV
A surety bond for $35,000 from a licensed business in California
According to California vehicle code 16028, when a peace officer request it of you, “every person who drives a motor vehicle upon a highway shall provide evidence of financial responsibility for the vehicle that is in effect at the time the demand is made.” If you are driving without insurance your vehicle registration may be suspended.
It Can Get Very Expensive
If you are cited for a first offense for driving without insurance in California, you will be imposed a fine of $100. With additional fees and penalty assessments, a base fine of $100 will eventually total up to roughly $450 in fines. Simultaneous convictions for the same offense within 3 years can be fined a minimum of $200 with a maximum of $500. Fees and penalty assessments will make a $200 base fine spike up to roughly $900, while the total fees and penalty assessments for a $500 fine will be about $2,500.
Points on Your License and your Future
If you are found guilty of driving without driver’s insurance in California, you will get points added to your driving record. Depending on what level the court determines to penalize you and your driving record, this can affect your liability to obtain driver’s insurance in the future. Unfortunately, when you have tickets and points associated with your driving record, insurance companies see you as a higher risk, and therefore, the premiums you will often be offered will be really high. Being in a situation such as this can place long term financial burden that will cost you more money long-term, than it would have obtaining the proper insurance right from the start.
Even If You’re Not At Fault..
If you are driving without insurance and you are involved in a car accident, you could face civil penalties as well. You could be ordered to pay for any property damage or injuries that occurred to any of the parties involved in the accident. Often times when in a situation such as this and you don’t have the monetary means of paying, lawsuits are prone to occur. Depending on the amount of damages this can lead to liens or judgments being imposed along with multiple others such as wage garnishment, etc. Additionally, the DMV can suspend your driver’s license for up to four years. In addition to the monetary fines you face for driving without insurance, police can have your car impounded.
May Eventually Need An SR-22?
An SR-22 form is a proof of insurance certificate provided to the DMV by your insurance company if you are seeking to reinstate your license after it has been suspended or revoked. This form is typically required if you have been convicted of DUI.
What coverage's will you need to avoid these issues.
The minimum insurance requirements for drivers in California are as follows:
$15,000 for injury or death of one person
$30,000 for injury or death of two or more persons
$5,000 for property damage
All drivers in California must have valid evidence of financial responsibility, including unlicensed drivers and drivers who are visiting from out of state.
Call Our Experienced Insurance Agents Today
There is no need for you to go through the hassle or the trouble explained above in order to save money every month. That is why you need to speak with an experienced insurance agent at Premier Services right away. Our skilled and knowledgeable agents are ready to assist you with your insurance needs. Don’t be caught without insurance, take 5 minutes out of your busy day to call us for a FREE quote today at 714-791-7254 or 714-791-7580. These numbers can also accept text messages should you not be able to call. If you need additional ways to reach us please click here.